St. Agatha's Breast by T.C. Van Adler
© 2002-2016 Italian-mysteries.com
Contemporary
Mystery
Set in Italy
Non-Series

SHORT STORIES
CRIMNI - Italian Noir


FAVORITE AUTHORS

Paul Adam
 Unhold Trinity
 Sleeper
Oliver Banks
 The Caravaggio Obsession
Tonino Benacquista
 Holy Smoke
Carlo Fruttero & Franco Lucentini
 The Sunday Woman
Marcello Fois
 The Advocate
Leslie Forbes
 Waking Raphael
Luca di Fulvio
 The Mannequin Man
Carlo Emilio Gadda
 That Awful Mess on Via Merulana
Giuseppe Genna
 In the Name of Ishmael
Kelly Jones
 The Lost Madonna
Amara Lakhous
 Clash of Civilizations Over An Elevator in Piazza Vittorio
Dacia Maraini
 Voices
 Darkness
William D. Montalbano
 Basilica
Magdalen Nabb
  & Paolo Vagheggi
 The Prosecutor
Ottavio Cappellani
 Who Is Lou Sciortino?
 Sicilian Tragedee
Ben Pastor
 Liar Moon
Alessandro Perissinotto
 Blood Sisters
Ellis Peters
 Holiday with Violence
Juan Manuel de Prada
 The Tempest
Giampiero Rigosi
 Night Bus
Giorgio Scerbanenco
 Duca and the Milan Murders
Leonardo Sciascia
 A Man's Blessing
 Equal Danger
 The Day of the Owl
T.C. Van Adler
 St. Agatha's Breast

OTHER AUTHORS

T.C. Van Adler

BIO
T.C. VAN ADLER is very experiended in both the worlds of art and the Church. Van Adler is a pseudonym.

Set in Rome
(Lazio)
THEME
 ©1999

Browse or Buy
.

St. Agatha's Breast

JACKET NOTES:  A compelling novel of corruption and murder in a modern-day Italian monastery.
Standing in the shadows of the Vatican, the cavernous, decaying abbey of San Redempto, once a community 01 more than a hundred, now houses only about a dozen and has been forgotten by the Church. San Redempto s obscurity is threatened, however, when six of the seven age-blackened paintings of martyrs that have long hung in its hallways are stolen. The remaining painting--depicting the martyrdom of St. Agatha--identified by Reverend Brocard,Curtis, the monastery's archivist, as a long-lost treasure, most likely by Poussin. These events seem destined to bring the kind of attention to San Redempto that many, within the priory and without, have been working for years to avoid.
While Brocard sets about trying to uncover the provenance of the paintings and solve the riddle of the theft, others frantically work to protect their secrets, resorting to murder, with conspiracy upon conspiracy reaching deep into the Church itself. In the tradition of ‘The Club Dumas’ and ‘An Instance of the Fingerpost, ‘St. Agatha s Breast’ is a brilliantly written novel, rich in detail and insight, a story of corruption, sexuality, blood oranges, and murder that is enlightening and compelling.
(© St. Martin’s Press)