The Blue Last by Martha Grimes
© 2002-2017
Mystery Series
Set in Italy


Donna Leon
Andrea Camilleri
Michael Dibdin
Timothy Williams
Magdalen Nabb
Grace Brophy
Massimo Carlotto
Gianrico Carofiglio
Carlo Lucarelli
Timothy Holme
Iain Pears
Edward Sklepowich
Marshall Browne
David Hewson
Simon Buck
Aaron Elkins

Set in England
Florence, Siena

© 2001


MARTHA GRIMES is the bestselling author of nineteen Richard Jury mysteries and also the acclaimed fiction Foul Matter, Cold Flat Junction, Hotel Paradise, The End of the Pier, and The Train Now Departing

Martha Grimes

The Richard Jury Mystery Series

The Blue Last

JACKET NOTES:  In The Blue Last, Richard Jury finally faces the last thing in the world he wants to deal with—the war that killed his mother, his father, his childhood. Mickey Haggerty, a DCI with the London City police, has asked for Jury's help. Two skeletons have been unearthed in the City during the excavation of London's last bombsite, where once a pub stood called the The Blue Last. Mickey believes that a child who survived the bombing has been posing for over fifty years as a child who didn't. The grandchild of brewery magnet Oliver Tyndale supposedly survived that December 1940 bombing . . . but did she? Mickey also has a murder to solve. Simon Croft, prosperous City financial broker, and son of the one-time owner of The Blue Last is found shot to death in his Thames-side house. But the book he was writing about London during the German blitzkrieg has disappeared.

Jury wants to get eyes and ears into Tynedale Lodge, and looks to his friend, Melrose Plant, to play the role. Reluctantly, Plant plays it, accompanied on his rounds of the Lodge gardens by nine-year-old Gemma Trim, orphan and ward of Oliver Tynedale; and Benny Keagan, a resourceful twelve-year-old orphaned delivery boy.

And Richard Jury may not make it out alive.

A stolen book, stolen lives, or is any of this what it seems? Identity, memory, provenance - these are all called into question in The Blue Last.
(© penguinputnam)

The Richard Jury Mystery Series

The Man With a Load of Mischief (©1981)
The Old Fox Deceived (©1982)
The Anodyne Necklace (©1983)
The Dirty Duck (©1984)
Jerusalem Inn (©1984)
Help The Poor Struggler  (©1985)
The Deer Leap (©1985)
I Am the Only Running Footman (©1986)
The Five Bells and Bladebone (©1987)
The Old Silent (©1989)
The Old Contemptibles (©1990)
The Horse You Came in On (©1993)
Rainbow's End (©1995)
The Case Has Altered (©1997)
The Stargazey (©1998)
The Lamorna Wink (©1999)
The Blue Last (©2001)
The Grave Maurice (©2002)
The Winds of Change (©2004)